Scam Me Not!

Okay, so this is so reeee-dic-u-lous!!! I’m in the market for a used car and find a gem on craigslist.

A. It’s downright unbelievable.

B. Here’s the explanation:

Hey,
I am selling this car because my unit will be sent back to Iraq.I have no use for the car anyway,due to my job.The price is low because I need to sell it before April 20th.The car is in great condition and runs great.I have a clean title ready to be signed.The car has no electrical or mechanical problems.It is still available for sale if interested,price as stated in the ad.The car is in Billings, MT; in case it gets sold I will take care of shipping.Let me know if you are interested, email back.
2004 BMW 5-Series 530I
Inspection: Inspected
Vehicle Title: Clear
Condition: Used
Transmission: Automatic
Fuel type: Gasoline
Engine: 3.0L V6
Price:$5000
Miles:54.900
Thanks,
Ryan

So I write back:

Hey,
Can you call me? I’d like to discuss the possibilities of how we can do a deal.

And he writes back:

Hey,
I’m sorry but as i told you i am not at home,i’m in this military base and we are not allowed to take calls here,we have very restricted rules here,once again i appologise for this inconvenience,hope you understand my situation.I will ship it with DAS. I think I can have it there in 5-7 working days. I will take care of the shipping charges as I told you in my first email. It will come with a clear title . I am a member of the eBay buyer protection program and using this service you will get a 3 days testing period after delivery. During that 3 days testing period I will not be getting any money. I need to know if you are interested so I can ask eBay to send you the details on this deal. If interested please include in your next email your contact info for eBay (name, address and phone number), so we can get the ball rolling.
Thanks,
Ryan

And I write back:

Ryan,
Could you direct me to your listing and eBay buyer id?

PLUS a SECOND more compelling email:

Wait – I have permission to fly out to MONTANA!!!! My husband has spoken. Since I’m really interested in this car and a cash buyer, it seems like this might work. Could it be arranged that I could take a look at the vehicle while in Billings?

His response:

The car was on eBay but i didn’t sell it there.Please send me your full name,address and phone number so i can ship the car to you.
Ryan

What a fun night I’ve had!

Scam ME NOT!

About Jodie Randisi

Independent publisher and author coaching for authors who need support in self publishing. I specialize in amazing true stories and coloring books for adults. Ghostwriting, author and media coaching, and much more. I love helping people and businesses preserve their legacies.
This entry was posted in Scams and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

