Bored Children, or Parents in Distress?

First of all, I think being bored is a good thing. Boredom has value. It forces children to develop their imaginations and ingenuity. I am not one to (though I’ve been falsely accused simply because of the title of my book, 201 Things to Do When Children Say I’M BORED! The Checklist and Journal for Busy Families) promote instant gratification for the I’M BORED! syndrome.

Although children can find themselves in trouble if idleness become a magnet for unbecoming behavior or unwanted characters, children must have time to daydream and create something from nothing. Kids who have everything handed to them (which is what some people think I do, again because of the title of the book I’ve written) will not rise to their full potential as a human being. Children who create stuff, even stuff that doesn’t work and makes a fabulous mess, are better candidates for employment down the road. Children who mess around with stuff and ideas are the ones who have the confidence to try new things, and employers like that. Being in the moment while following nobody’s rules or instructions will open up so many unexplored channels. So UNPLUG the devices (after you finish reading this) and go play.


To clarify, there are those of us who have great intentions just not enough great ideas, so if that’s the case, by all means get the BOOK and use it to promote creativity and togetherness. The concept behind 201 Things to Do When Children Say I’M BORED! is simple. SPEND TIME WITH CHILDREN – the rewards are terrific! I wrote it because at one time I was a young parent in distress – all because I lacked a list of things to do when my children needed and wanted my attention.Not only do I have a list, I have a record, which is very COOL!

Here’s one of my absolute favorites:  IDEA #186  BEGIN A FAMILY DIARY – Take turns writing in it. Let the younger children tell of the experiences, thoughts and feelings while someone older records the entry.

I recommend that you do this in writing BUT since the future is digital, you should find ways to record your summer memories online with Photopeach.com or animoto.com.  TRUST ME – you’ll be SOOOO glad you did. Children grow up too fast. All three of ours are now officially launched, out of the nest and living in the real world and Hubby and I are totally wishing we had recorded more memories. Here’s why. We disagree on who said what or where we were when ____ happened. That’s just he way it is when you get older. Memories fade and get rewritten, which is actually fine with me.

BOTTOMLINE: Children have to have fun. And as adults, it’s not our responsibility to pave the road for our children. It is, however, a good idea to provide a decent roadmap.

About Jodie Randisi

Independent publisher and author coaching for authors who need support in self publishing. I specialize in amazing true stories and coloring books for adults. Ghostwriting, author and media coaching, and much more. I love helping people and businesses preserve their legacies.
This entry was posted in BOOK Recommends, Ideas for Family Fun, Parenting, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

