My Mother Was a Hooker!

Look at what you can do with wool strips? My mother, God Rest Her Soul, was a rug hooker, but how I loved to tell people she was a hooker. Her grandkids used to tell their friends, “My grandmother’s a hooker.”  Well, maybe I was the only one in the family who enjoyed that joke. But the reality is rug hooking is a lost and dying craft, one that involves searching out discarded wool clothing, dying the wool the proper color, cutting the fabric into strips and then hooking the strips into a canvas – the results of which are usually a rug but in this case – YOU CAN MAKE HANDBAGS!

I’m selling her lifelong collection to another hooker next week. Sadly, I cannot take it with me. We’re downsizing and that means I have to shed stuff all over the place. It’s disheartening because I always thought I would one day take up the craft and make my own creations. I guess I’ll have to treasure the rugs she left behind all the more.

Although the kids are grown up and gone and we’re done caring for our elderly parents and pets, my husband and I will miss the big old house where, in every room, nook and cranny, memories are stacked up like pancakes. I don’t understand how in the world I ended up with hundreds of picture frames! There’s a moving sale in my future, and my advice is to GO DIGITAL!!

Hundreds more just like this!

About Jodie Randisi

Independent publisher and author coaching for authors who need support in self publishing. I specialize in amazing true stories and coloring books for adults. Ghostwriting, author and media coaching, and much more. I love helping people and businesses preserve their legacies.
This entry was posted in Family, Ideas for Family Fun and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

